After the excitement that the club had been shortlisted for THREE national awards – the hard work of all our volunteers was recognised by winning the Cricket Club of the Year award at the Club Awards in Manchester.

Club Steward Allan Knaggs is pictured second left, with UK Paralympian swimmer Natalie Jones, Club Co-Chair Olwyn Hocking and Treasurer Nigel Stembridge, Paralympian cyclist Rik Waddon, and event host, TV Sport presenter Chris Hollins. The Club Award was presented by sponsor James Stibbs, left, of the Sports and Recreational Alliance.

The news comes less than ten years after the future of the club was in doubt. A high profile public campaign led to the ground’s future being secured.

The three award nominations were for Cricket Club of the Year, Best Marketing/Communications and Best Refurbishment. Improvements costing £150K were unveiled in 2012 including a new entrance, new accessible facilities and a refurbished Thomson Pavilion Suite.

Pictured above: the Lord Mayor of Newcastle, the Hardy family who carried out the opening, plus guests from the many community and grant organisations which supported the development. Pictured below: representatives of function room sponsor Thomson Travel at the official opening.

The Club Awards took place in Manchester on 8 November.